GoToHomepage

Berlin Export
Ein «Entertainment»
Neue deutsche Fassung 2024 • Englisch und Deutsch

Berlin Export


Difficile est saturam non scribere.
Es ist schwierig, keine Satire zu schreiben.
Juvenal. Saturae I, 30

You may not be able to change the world, but at least you can embarrass the guilty.
Man mag die Welt nicht verändern können, aber zumindest kann man die Schuldigen blamieren.
Jessica Mitford.

Zwei deutsche Touristen sterben bei Ver­kehrs­un­fäl­len in Ägypten. Ihre Leichen werden dazu be­nutzt, eine gro­ße Menge an Dol­lar­schei­nen nach Deutsch­land zu trans­por­tie­ren. Warum in­ter­es­sie­ren sich die zuständigen deut­schen Be­hör­den nicht für diesen Fall?

In der Gestalt eines kanadischen Journalisten wird Jack Boulder von einem kleinen deutschen Ge­heim­dienst nach Ägypten geschickt, um die Hin­ter­grün­de zu erforschen. Er reist mit einer De­le­ga­tion eines deutschen Re­gie­rungs­mi­nis­ters. Un­be­ab­sich­tigt gibt ein Arzt ei­ner deut­schen Fluggesellschaft Boulder eine Spur, die ihn schließ­lich nach Spanien führt.

Offenbar ist der Geldschmuggel nur ein Ne­ben­schau­platz der Ereignisse. Sie haben ihre Wur­zeln in der jüngeren deut­schen Geschichte, in ehe­ma­li­gen Ost-West-Ge­schäfts­be­zieh­un­gen, die lebendig ge­hal­ten werden, und sie sind weit­aus kom­pli­zier­ter und verworrener, als alle dach­ten — und sie spie­len sich auf der Ebene der neu­en, schnel­len und lockeren deutschen Elite ab.

Der Roman spielt 2004 in Berlin, Kairo, der li­by­schen Wüste — Basel, Potsdam — Re­mi­nis­zen­zen an das Buda­pest der 1950er und das Ost-Berlin der 1970er Jahre — Madrid, Andalusien und die Toskana … während die Welt sich dreht.

Es ist ein weiteres Buch mit Jack Boulder, sei­nem Freund Laszlo Nagy und des­sen Be­glei­te­rin Malcsi, Dr. Schall — und Jack Boulders Freun­din Annabel Conti, die immer noch für eine Schwei­zer Bank arbeitet.




TwinTree

Look at the book   Leseprobe …



Berlin Export. Il­lu­strier­te ge­bun­de­ne Aus­gabe, 290 Sei­ten, 25 Farb­illus­tra­tio­nen.
A TwinTree™ Pub­li­ca­tion. Son­der­aus­ga­be — nicht zum Ver­kauf be­stimmt.



spaceholder new red   Lesermeinung

spaceholder new blue   Die Geschichte ist straff und die Prosa ge­schlif­fen, manchmal bissig und sarkastisch, teils la­ko­nisch, teils beschreibend. Der li­te­ra­ri­sche Stil ist an die leicht zu lesende Form des Polit­thril­lers an­ge­passt. Das Hauptthema ist: Wem kann man trau­en?
R.P., Berlin.




   

© 2024 by Peter de Chamier
Security and Privacy of this Site: For your and our se­cu­ri­ty we do not use cookies.
Please read the Disclaimer and the In­for­ma­tion on Cookies Required by the Eu­ro­pean Commission as prescribed by law.

GoToHomepage

Berlin Export
An «Entertainment»
New Edition 2024 • English and German

Berlin Export


Difficile est saturam non scribere.
It is difficult not to write satire.
Juvenal. Saturae I, 30

You may not be able to change the world, but at least you can embarrass the guilty.
Jessica Mitford.

Two German tourists die in traffic accidents in Egypt. Their bodies are used to transport a huge amount of dol­lar bills into Germany. Why are the responsible German authorities not in­ter­est­ed in this case?

In the guise of a Canadian journalist Jack Boul­der is sent to Egypt by a minor German sec­ret service to inquire about the background, tra­vel­ing with a German government mi­ni­ster's de­le­ga­tion. Un­in­ten­tio­nal­ly, an airline physician gives Boulder a lead that finally takes him to Spain.

Apparently, money trafficking is but a sideline in the context of events. They have their root in re­cent German history, former East-West busi­ness relations kept alive, and are far more com­pli­cat­ed and con­vo­lu­ted than everybody thought — and they happen on the level of the new fast and loose German elite.

The novel is set in 2004 in Berlin, Cairo, the Li­byan desert — Basel, Potsdam — re­mi­ni­scen­ces of Budapest in the 1950s and East Berlin in the 1970s — Madrid, An­da­lu­sia, and Tuscany … as the world turns.

Another book featuring Jack Boulder, his friend Lasz­lo Nagy, Dr. Schall — and Jack Boulder's friend Annabel Conti, who still works for a Swiss bank.




TwinTree

Look at the book   Have a look …



Berlin Export. Illu­stra­ted paperback, 280 pages, 25 co­lor il­lu­stra­tions.
New Edition 2024 | Publishing date: 6 March 2024.
www.TwinTree.co
ISBN (Europe): 978-3-7583 1414-8 | ISBN (outside Europe): 978-628-01-2720-0
Order through:



spaceholder new red   Reader's Opinion

spaceholder new blue   "The story is taut and the prose polished, some­times biting and sarcastic, partly laconic, partly de­scrip­tive story-telling. The literary style is adjusted to the easy-reading form of the po­li­ti­cal thriller. The main theme is: Whom can you trust?"
R.P., Berlin.




   

© 2024 by Peter de Chamier
Security and Privacy of this Site: For your and our se­cu­ri­ty we do not use cookies.
Please read the Disclaimer and the In­for­ma­tion on Cookies Required by the Eu­ro­pean Commission as prescribed by law.